So this weekend I finaly finished the Sidewinders.  After knitting one, knitting the other, ripping the first and knitting it again, I have improved my grafting skills and I have this pattern memorized.  I gave them to my sister yesterday and she wore them around the house all night!

And, yes I asked if she could get both of them up by her face, and she refused to do it!  Go figure.

I have also started to work on the Arizona Sands fiber I showed you guys last week.  It will be a lace/sock weight.  It is so very fluffy and wonderful to work with.  I can’t wait to have the first two bobbins filled so I can start plying!

Now, what you have realy come to see.  My KnitPicks Harmony Needles got here on Saturday!

I got two fixed circulars, sized 2.75 and 3.25, and the sock set that has all the smaller, sockier needles.  The sock set comes with 6 needles per size, in case one breaks, and as you can see there are only 2 needles in the center space!  Did they forget to put some of the needles in the pack when they sent them?  No, I just couldn’t wait to use them!

These needles are beyond amazing!  I have been a Magic Ring girl for a while because every time I tried DPNs, it was like knitting with a greased sea urchin!  There were needles sliding all over the place!  None of them stayed where they were supposed to be.  They were never sharp enough.  I always felt like I couldn’t grip them securly because they would bend and break.

These needles solve all those problems!  The laminated wood makes the needles stronger, so they don’t bend or give too much.  They are just as sharp as the original KnitPicks needles.  The wood is slick, but still grips the yarn securly.  No slippery needles!  And the colors aren’t as bright as they appeared on the KnitPicks site, not garrish or clashing.  Most of the time when I am working they just look like a nice dark finish under my yarn.

I sat down and began working on an ankle sock.  It worked up so quickly and evenly with none of the nasty laddering I had been getting with other needles (ymmv on that last statement)  I have to say that I am very happy with these needles and can’t wait to get more!  They have even been given a nickname by my husband.  He calls them my Hippy Tie-dyed needles, as opposed to my original style Options which he refers to as my Metal Space Aged needles.

I am also happy to report that I have brought a new one over to the dark side.

Ah, my young apprentice.  Little does she know as she sits there, happily knitting away on her garter stitch scarf, that this is the beginning of a lifetime obsession! *evil laughter as I run from the room in a swirl of black cloak*

