Not only is it about darn time I got myself back to the computer, but it is about darn time I finished this shawl and posted a photo of it!

It turned out beautiful!  I gave it to my husband’s grandma for her birthday this weekend.  I couldn’t get a good photo of the edges, but I left them pointy instead of filling them in with triangles.  I liked the extra detail it gave the project.  Here are the specs

Mitered Square shawl
Knit with handspun Corriedale in the Dogwood colorway from Spunky Eclectic, 12 oz to start with – aprox 1350 yards
Spun in a heavy sock weight and knit on US7 sized needles

When fully blocked it was over 6 feet long!  I know this because I blocked it on my queen sized matress and I had to pin one end of it down the end of the bed!  I love how it looks, but I don’t think I will make another big project until I get some of the other large projects off my needles.

I also did a little bit of spinning this week too.  This is wool in the Brain Freeze colorway from Spunky Eclectic.

It is a sock/lace weight wool, about 700 yards from 4 oz.  I was trying to make longer stripes of color,  so I split the roving in half long wise and then spun each half and plied it together.  There are long runs of soft purples, blues and teals with bright stripes of yellow.  The colors softened beautifully together.  I can’t wait to start knitting with this yarn.  Not sure if it will be a pair of socks or a lace project.  I have to finish some other projects first because I am starting to drownd under all my UFOs

