My goal for the Tour was to spin lace-weight by the end.  I have succeeded and surpassed this goal and now I am 100% hooked on lace-weight!  I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me before that if I lived in the desert, I should be trying to spin as light a yarn as possible.  It is sort of one of those face-palm moments. 

A few months ago, I watched Abby’s video tutorials on how to ply.  I knew how to ply, but She has been spinning for almost her whole life, so when she wants to take the time out to show us the technique she uses who am I to say “meh, I know how to do that.”  No Sir!  I eagerly waited for each installment and watched each video over and over.  I love learning new things and trying new techniques!

I gave it a try on some chunky yarn I was spinning for my sister.  It came out nice, but I preferred the look of my old way of plying better.  But I couldn’t get the idea of those lusciously thin yarns that Abby makes out of my mind.  They are beautiful!  Go look, right now.

I thought maybe her technique was better suited for the ultra fine yarns.  So once I had reached my goal of a whole bunch of insanely thin singles, I started using her technique to ply them.  It was like magic!!  The plies were firm and well twisted together.  Just to see the difference, I switched back to my old way of plying.  It was immediately apparent that with lace-weight, my old way of plying would leave the yarn under-plied.  I had figured out the secret to beautiful lace-weight yarn.  THANK YOU ABBY!!

Here is what I have done so far with my new found knowledge.  Working only for good, and not for evil, I plied this BFL from Spunky Eclectic in the Tulip colorway.  There are over 1300 yards of it all told

I finished this yarn on July 20th, so when I went to the Harry Potter party that night I knew what I would be doing for the 7 hours before the book came out.  I found myself a copy of Victorian Lace Today and A Gathering of Lace and parked myself at a table.  I have wanted these two books for ages, but I didn’t want to purchase it without getting a chance to paw through them.

I sat down at one of the tables and read through each book, page by page, cover to cover and decided that for right now Victorian Lace Today would fit better into the amounts of yarn that I am spinning.  And while most people were staying up all night to read about the trials and tribulations of Mr Potter (I admit, I cried at the end) I stayed up and started knitting.  Here is the very beginning of the Spiderweb Shawl.  I am making it with 4 sections

I have put this aside for right now so that I can focus on finishing this yarn.  It is wool/bamboo blend.  More on that next time

